amsterdam houseboats - amsterdam charters - cruises - groups accommodation House-Boat Hotel Amsterdam

House-Boat B026 reviews

Write a review »
19 January 2014
Amsterdam von seiner schönsten Seite
by Heike Ullrich

Ich habe die Woche um den Jahreswechsel auf Jochems schönem Hausboot erlebt. Jochem ist der perfekte Gastgeber. Ich wurde am frühen Morgen empfangen. Das wohnliche Boot war aufgewärmt und mit frischen Blumen geschmückt. Gern hat er mich mit hilfreichen Informationen über Amsterdam, aktuelle Events und das Leben auf einem Hausboot versorgt.
Das Wohnschiff ist perfekt gelegen in einem erstaunlich ruhigen Kanal mitten im Zentrum Amsterdams, wenige Gehminuten vom Bahnhof entfernt. Vom gemütlichen Wohnraum aus schaut man den vorbeifahrenden Touristenbooten und den Haubentauchern zu. Das große Bett ist sehr bequem, die Gasheizungen geben genug Wärme ab, und man muss auch sonst auf keine Annehmlichkeit verzichten. Das Schiff verfügt über eine komplett ausgestattete Küche, eine Badewanne, Waschmaschine und einen Trockner. Der einzige Nachteil ist, dass ich irgentwann wieder nach Hause musste - aber ich komme bestimmt wieder!

25 November 2013
cosy
by Krisztina Doczy

We stayed on this house-boat for 4 days in November. We thought we will freeze but quite the opposite: the two gas heater keeps the boat perfectly warm. The owner of the boat waited for us and gave us a "cultural tour", good directions and ideas. The area cannot be better! 10 minutes walk from the Central Station, buses and tram, right in the middle of the best part of Amsterdam: restaurants, bars, small streets, canals. Perfect place, a bit of country feeling in the boat. Don't expect schick modern design, the place is like a country antique, with older style kitchen. But very friendly and works well.
Definitely a good size for a family, or two couples as well. I will go back sometimes.

19 October 2013
Great time on the boat!
by Jacki Neil

Stayed on Jochem's boat with my husband and two children. Great central location, more then enough room for the four of us. We loved the experience as a change from hotel rooms. Jochem met us, made us feel welcome and gave some great advise on what do do, where to eat and local shopping. The kids loved feeding the birds, waving to the tourist bats and sitting on th upper deck. I would recommend staying on the boat.

6 October 2013
Better than a hotel!
by Kristal & Mark Hallahan

What a great way to see Amsterdam by living in a houseboat along the canals. Perfect location, walking with suitcases on cobblestone only took 5 minutes from Central Station, dont bother with tram or bus. Met Jochem on arrival and explained how everything worked, places to go such as Zaans Schans which is a little Dutch town 20 minutes away by train full of working windmills, authentic clogs, cheese and cocoa factory. Would not stay in a hotel in Amsterdam as it deprives you of the real experience of living on the canals like the Dutch :) 2 blocks across you will reach the centre, RLD, we recommend the following places for young mature couple - Harkema, Greenhouse Effect, Heineken Brewery, Cheese & Wine Canal Cruise. Many thanks for a fantastic stay, I have already given your business card to my best friend, she cant wait to come stay :)
Mark & Kristal, Brisbane, Australia

11 September 2013
Hausboot Hendrick
by Sybille Schneemann-Kurz

Es waren drei schöne Tage. Ein wunderschönes Boot, supernette Betreuung, beste Lage mitten in der Stadt.
Besser kann man Amsterdam nicht erkunden. Stilecht wohnen in den Grachten.

6 August 2013
Résumé
by Christoph

We are back at home after a long sunny july weekend. It was wonderful. Arriving at late evening - without any problems. A handbook with information about WLAN and some rules about the boat and neighborhood, some beer in the fridge, more than enough space for 3 persons. In the morning (11 o clock) Hendryk (not 100% sure about the written name) visit us, explained some things about the boat and thats it. After that, we enjoyed. Breakfast on the houseboot during the sun was rising. Brush my teeth on top of the boat during some tourist bus-ships pass the town canal :-D
A few meters to Amsterdam Ceentral, the City and lots of more interesting places... Zandfoort beach was my favorite place. The boat was a full equipped flat and after the weekend there was a feeling like sitting on a boat which was shaking by a wave but... i was on ground.
We will come back
Kind regards
Christoph

24 July 2013
A great stay
by Lina Nolan

We stayed on Jochum's boat for 5 days in July 2013 and enjoyed it immensely. The boat is in a quiet but central location with walking distance to pretty much any sights/part of the city you'd want to go. Jochum is friendly and knowledgable about his city, and there is plenty of information on the boat about things to do. The boat itself really nice with everything you need. A great choice! Lina and Ben, Australia

1 July 2013
A lovely boathouse with plenty of charm
by MD

PROS:
Excellent central location, a charming boat, plenty of room inside (there is a kind of living room and a dining area. The owner is nice and helpful.
I can only recommend this houseboat. It is a one of a kind experience to stay on a boat in Amsterdam.

28 May 2013
Fabulous stay
by Andrey Orekhov

Staying on a houseboat was a new and fantastic experience for us. The boat was very well equipped, nicely furnished and well heated, which came handy as it was around +10 celsius outside. It was better than a hotel on all counts – more space, complete privacy and even an occasional white swan drifting past the windows. Jochem the owner was very nice and helpful about everything. The location is good – close to the Central Station and the New Market but still quite a walk to the opposite side of the city center like Museumplein.

24 April 2013
Great Stay
by Sheila MacGowan, Canada

We just returned from a trip to The Netherlands that started with a 4 night stay on The Hendrick what a great beginning. The boat is centrally located and is walking distance to most highlights and it is also easy to get to the Central Station (5 min walk)and other locations to pick up a tram. The supermarket is a few minutes away in New Market and Jochem has bags there to save on plastic. The Hendrick was well appointed with nice linen and towels (and lots of them), the kitchen is well supplied with cutlery and plates etc but Jochem you may want to purchase a few larger bowls for snacks and to serve food from. It was a very comfortable size for a couple and would work fairly well for 2 couples but would have to be fairly close. We had excellent sleeps the beds were very comfortable (I do not like a hard bed and liked these) and it is so quiet you will love it. Jochem is a great host and the place was very clean upon arrival. You will not regret booking and staying on The Hendrick.

8 April 2013
Erholung & Atmosphäre pur
by Stefan Kreutzer

Wunderschönes Boot, Supernette Betreuung. Bestlage.
Besser kann man Amsterdam nicht "erleben"; Stilecht in den Grachten.

11 March 2013
Great place to stay.
by Julia Bailey

This houseboat has become my new favorite place to stay in Amsterdam. The owner was very nice and friendly, gave us a great history of the city and left us tulips.
The location is ideal, its easy walking distance to the train station and is right near the 'red light' district but not in it so it was very safe. We enjoyed the local bar (which was actually filled with locals and not tourists). Loved sitting on the roof of the houseboat. The place was clean and everything was very modern.
I would highly recommend staying here, except during the times I would like it.

19 February 2013
Beautiful, Centrally Located while Quiet, Private, and Peaceful
by Angela McKeller

From booking to arrival - a completely stress-free and pleasant experience!
We cannot thank Jochem enough for the delightful stay on his houseboat. It gave us the freedom to prepare our own meals in a kitchen and the peace and tranquility needed after a busy day in the city.
We arrived after a harrowing day of travel and Jochem was so kind as to have warm Dim Sum snacks and hot tea available, as he knew we would be tired, cold, and need a pick me up. Totally unexpected, we were wow'ed!
Further, he went out of his way to explain the neighborhood and things to do in the area, and sure enough, we were so centrally located that we never needed a cab or transportation unless we decided we could not stand the cold anymore. ha!
The houseboat itself was SO cozy, peaceful, and very warm (which I wondered how well insulated it would be - but it was perfect and I'm from a warm, SE United States climate). The bed was not too soft and not too firm - just perfect. The boat is well anchored, so you don't feel it move at all unless you are at the very end of the boat (living room area), just after a boat goes through the canal.
A delightful stay with a fantastic host, lots of privacy, centrally located - we absolutely cannot wait to visit again. Thank you, Jochem!

17 December 2012
Our stay on your boat
by Dieter Sawatzki

We have spent a wonderful long weekend on your cozy, quiet boat and enjoyed it a lot. The houseboat is a perfect hideaway where you can forget about everything for some days. Thank you very much for your hospitality and the possibility to stay on your boat. We will try to come back.

23 October 2012
Location, Location, Location
by Lesley, Jim & Kevin

Where to start with this stunning boat, just returned to the UK having spent a 4 night break on the Hendrik. Everything you need and desire for your holiday is available on this lovely boat from the 5 minute walk from Centraal Station to the excellent hosting skills of Jochem Bakker. Although you are only a short walk from the red light district the boat is so quiet & peaceful only downside is having to leave to come home :(.
This boat would definitely be my first choice for somewhere to stay in this wonderful city.

28 August 2012
First Class
by Rob

Just got back home to the UK and and its back to reality unfortunately :o( no more evenings sat on the deck of this beautiful boat watching the sun go down and feeding the small ducks that visit. No more waving at the people on the tour boats that go by, no more gentle movements on the water that remind you that you are on a boat and not in a luxury hotel.... instead its a suit and tie and off to work in London tomorrow :o(( in all seriousness, if you are looking for a really relaxing break with everything you need and in an amazing location, look no further!! peacefull, quiet, charming, secure and yet less that a 5 minute walk to everythung this fantastic city has to offer. Mr Bakker is a very nice and easy to deal with, i will defo be going back. thanks :o)

6 July 2012
A Great Start
by David Hicks

We had a wonderful stay in Amsterdam and the houseboat hendricks was the key to a great start.The houseboat was very easy to locate and just a short walk from central station,which at first worried us (how could something so central be quiet)....no need to worry.
We were met by Jochem and he gave us a quick rundown of the boats facilities and quirks and also helped us get our first day off to a great start with a few suggestions.
The houseboat is right next to the no.2 stop on the local hop on hop off tourist bus service and is very close to the red light district and many good restaurants and bars .Try Hemelse Modder just across the canal for a pleasant dining experience or captian and co's just across the bridge for a quiet afternoon drink.

28 April 2012
Our stay in Amsterdam
by Roger Haesele

Things could not have been better.We had a wonderful stay on the boat and would
do it again in a minute. Everything was great.

16 April 2012
Love Houseboat Hendrick
by Steve & Kyle

Houseboat Hendrick was the perfect start to our Amsterdam trip. Jochem was the perfect host. The houseboat is comfortable, well appointed, and incredibly convenient to everything. We loved Floriade, and our excursion to Venlo. We feel lucky to have the opportunity to stay with you. Many thanks!

2 April 2012
Houseboat Hendrick
by Sandra & Ronnie Low

Stayed on the B026 Hendrick for 4 nights March 2012 (4 adults)
Very easy to find the boat from Central Station, easy directions given from the owner. Arrived at the boat after a 5 minute walk and all I can say is "Wow!"
The boat is moored on a very peaceful and beautiful location
There is a fully fitted kitchen with every accessory you could think of, microwave, kettle, oven, every utensil we needed we found.
Bathroom has a bath with shower fitted over the bath, toilet and sink. Also in the bathroom are the washing machine and tumble drier, both which we used, also the owner provides washing powder and all your towels. There is an iron and ironing board but no hairdrier so bring your own.
Bedroom was small, basically a double high rise bed, very comfortable though.
The lounge/2nd bedroom is fantastic. Queen sized bed, one of the comfiest beds I've ever slept in, is at one end of the area and other end has your lounge. Sofa plus 2 easy chairs, desk etc
The houseboat has Freeview TV with plenty English Channels, there is a DVD player built into TV, there are numerous books there from novels to travel guides, boardgames, lots to keep you busy if weather poor. Immaculate Condition inside and out.
Dam Square is a 10 minute walk, 5 minute walk the the numerous bars/restaurants and the "Red Light District"
Could not fault this boat, or the very friendly owner and neighbours, will definatlely be returning! We didn't want to leave!

14 February 2012
A fantastic way to experience Amsterdam
by SAIRA KAPASI AND ALAN MCKINNON

We booked the Henrick after reading all the amazing reviews and because of the location of the boat. We were not disappointed. It is a truly wonderful boat and brings with it a charm and romantic feel that is really unique.
When we saw the boat from outside we thought it looked very typically like a barge type boat but when we opened the little wooden door it felt like we were entering an entirely different place. The boat inside is really big and spacious. It is well appointed and everything has been expertly thought out. The bathroom includes a bath, shower head, washing machine, tumble dryer. Products are there for your use too. The kitchen is lovely with everything you might need including tea, coffee etc... The main living area is open plan and just amazing. The photos (although good) do not do it justice. You have a raised living room area with a couch and chair and the flat screen tv swings on a modern mount from the living area to the main bedroom area. It was the perfect place to relax and take in canal life. We felt really lucky to have got this boat. I can now see why the reviews were so positive. Its just a really happy place to be.
Jochem, the owner, was very knowledgable about the area and we felt that had we needed anything he would have been very helpful. As it turns out the boat is so well equipped and well thought out that we didnt need to trouble him.
We are sad to have left the Henrik but we are going to recommend to family and friends so they can experience it too.

17 November 2011
Unforgettable
by John Morrill

A unique way to experience Amsterdam. Close to all the action whether you want the action or not. Perfectly situated next to a brick bridge. The owner is very personable, helpful and informative. Definitely will return.

16 November 2011
Houseboat B026 Review
by Michael Mazrum

A very cosy and comfortable boat with good location and the conveniences of home. Good reataurants nearby (Thai Eethuis, Cubanista, Poco Loco). We enjoyed our stay very much. A good houseboat beats a hotel room every time.

10 November 2011
Heaven
by Donna

We really enjoyed our stay on WS Hendrik boat 026 We felt like we were in heaven and to be honest I think we were. Close to everything, clean and fully equipped. Amsterdam plus B026 equals time in heaven

8 November 2011

The houseboat was even better than I expected it; clean, in perfect order and in a wonderful location. We had a great time, enjoyed every minute on it and would definitely recommend it to everyone and would be back when in Amsterdam again.

25 October 2011
Review
by Peter

The houseboat was great. The location was quiet and close to everything. The owner was incredibly knowledgeable about Amsterdam and gave us a wonderful history lesson. Would recommend staying there to anyone.

22 October 2011
The Hendrik 10-15 October
by Val Collman

We thoroughly enjoyed staying on the Hendrik, found the boat very spacious, comfortable and well equipped. It was especially nice to find some essential kitchen supplies in the cupboard and not have to buy these for a short stay.
Mr Bakker was extremely pleasant and informative, gave us a brief history of the area and answered all our questions.
The position of the Hendrik is excellent, quiet but so close to both the station and the centre of the old city, and we found we could walk to all the museums, restaurants, and shops that we wanted.

9 October 2011
Great stay!
by Phill, Sharon, nicole

Great location, great service, great boat. Best type of accomodation in Amsterdam.
Would recommend to anyone.

21 September 2011
Our Stay on Houseboat Hendrik
by Dodson's and Dyring's

We absolutely loved our stay on the Houseboat Hendrik in July 2011.
It was very close to all the action and Centraal Station.
The houseboat was well appointed with everything we needed for our 4 nights in Amsterdam.
We would definitely stay again on this houseboat - a much better experience to staying in another hotel.
Thanks again for your hospitality.
The Dodson's and Dyring's
Melbourne Australia

20 September 2011
Houseboat stay in 2009
by Tamaryn Cox

my husband and I stayed on the Hendrik for 3 nights in 2009. What a wonderful experience! the boat is so well equipped and we spent all 3 evenings enjoying a glass of wine on the deck while watching the tourist boats and life in general happen around us. Would definitely recommend this houseboat to anyone wanting to enjoy a real taste of Amsterdam !
My only regret is that we didn't stay longer!

11 September 2011
Brilliant stay on a brilliant boat
by Doug

Well-located, well-equipped boat. Very comfortable and spacious. Very much enjoyed lazy evenings on the top deck! Would return without a second thought.

2 August 2011
Holiyday in Amsterdam on Houseboat "Hendrik" for 3 days
by Julia Wagenbauer, Rickler Florian, Karolis Julia,Schmolke Thomas

Dear Marcel,
we would like to say thank you for that pleasant stay on your Houseboat.
It is really a wonderful and very clean accomodation for two or four people which gives you the possibility to cook on your own or even wash your clothes.
Furthermore it's a special feeling to stay on the "Grachten", sit on the deck of the boat while watching the city and people around you.
The location is in a quiet district and very close to the "Dam", "Rotlichtviertel" and the "Nieuw Markt".
We only can recommend this Boat to everyboady and say thank you again to Marcel for giving us this great chance to stay on "Hendrik".
Best regards from Germany

11 July 2011
Smart and individual - a jewel on the water
by Robert Fischer

Coming back from Amsterdam, where we rent this boat last week - we already miss it: Amsterdam AND the boat. For us this was the first time staying on a House-Boat - and I cannot imagine an enjoyable stay, especially in Amsterdam. My wife said, she thinks, this is much more like having the opportunity to stay in a "best friends home"; not to compare with a hotel room at all. And she is right: That's why our stay was such a great experience for us.

23 June 2011
fabulous holidays in Amsterdam
by Carol Smith (June 2011) Melbourne Australia

Hi Folks,
We - a female friend and myself have just stayed four nights on Hendrick canal boat in Amsterdam. We found it very comfortable in a magnificent location and easy to find.
The boat has two double bedrooms, one of them with a raised bed, (storage underneath) a couple of steps up, but not difficult like bunks. The kitchen /dining is spacious for cooking, eating and living space is bright and cosy for loafing around. We loved it. Bathroom/ laundry works well. Steps around and in the boat are very manageable.
Overall, the best is the location, what a fabulous position, so close to everything, yet quite at night. Amazing.

6 June 2011
OUR STAY IN AMSTERDAM 19 May to 23 May 2011 HOUSEBOAT 26
by Huwart Marcel and Brigitte

Nous sommes très heureux de notre séjour sur la péniche de Joachim qui a été très sympathique de nous aider pour nous rendre au parking nord afin d'y laisser notre véhicule. La péniche est très agréable, bien équipée, spacieuse et bien décorée. Le lit était également très confortable, ce que nous avons apprécié, car ce n'est pas toujours le cas dans les locations. cela dit nous avons été enchanté de notre séjour à AMSTERDAM, cette ville est magnifique, très vivante, nous y retournerons certainement.
Cordialement HUWART Marcel et Brigitte.

1 June 2011
Great Honeymoon
by Chloe

we had a wonderful time on the houseboat. our host was there to collect payment when we arrived and chatted to us about local history then left us to it for the whole stay. he had lined up some prosecco and a vase of roses which was a lovely touch! the boat is spacious for two and really charming. we used the bath, shower, the washing machine and dryer, we cooked, sunbathed up on the chairs on the top of the boat... it was idyllic. there are lots of nice restaurants close by and it's an excellent area to stay in. safe, residential but close enough to the station and the centre to get everywhere very easily. i knew the direct neighbourhood having stayed there a few years ago with a friend who lived on that street at the time and it was as lovely as i remembered it. really no criticisms at all!! we will definitely br back and we may bring friends next time to stay in the spare room!
Many thanks
Choe and Charlie, very happy honeymooners from London

19 May 2011
Hendricks House Boat
by Lucy & Tom

We had an absolutely fantastic stay on Hendriks.
We arrived to find Jochem waiting for us - he was a very kind and informative host.
We enjoyed 5 nights on Hendrik's, which was absolutely fantastic and so relaxing.
We would never stay in a hotel in Amsterdam again as there was so much more space, peace and quiet and freedom on the houseboat.
We had good luck with weather and loved sitting on the roof terrace watching the tour boats go by.
There is everything you could possibly need on the boat and we couldnt have asked for more.
I hope we get to return soon.
Thank-you for a lovely stay!

2 May 2011
Your Housboat was grest, thanks
by Antje Heunemann

The housboat B026 was very beautiful. The time in it was great.
It was clean and big and it was near central staion and red light district, the waag and westernchurch.
Thanks for all...
For the next time I would like to have a small boat. Then it`s possible for myself to drive on the `river` .
Bye
friendly regards
Antje Heunemann

23 April 2011
Slice of Heaven
by Liz

Just beautiful to return to at the end of the day. Quiet, full of light, cosy but spacious. All amenities present and working. Only two minutes from the absolute madness of Amsterdam Central, and the red light district, and you wouldn't know. Its even fun to wave to the tourist boats passing quietly and pretending you live there! Excellent layout and decor, a bunch of tulips and you are home. Have already recommended to friends that Amsterdam from this canal boat is a must.

17 April 2011
Houseboat B026
by Lynn Price

Wonderful time! Great houseboat - I love eating out but enjoyed self catering on board - and sharing a bottle on top each evening! We were lucky with the weather. The boat is situated in a quiet spot - thoroughly recomment a stay!

8 April 2011
Fabulous.
by Terri & Jennie Cook

I could go on and on and on and on but you would bet bored before you read it all so I'll stick to the things that were important to me when looking for a place to stay...
Clean- The Hendrick is fabulous, clean clean clean.
Location- close to EVERYTHING or the tram to get to it!! Steps away from all the action yet in a canal that is so quiet and peaceful you begin to wonder if anyone actually lives in this beautiful city!! We LOVED waking to the sounds of the ducks and the church bells and the clock...dont get me wrong..all these sounds are "wake up in heaven" nice, not wake you up with disturbing sounds loud ...we woke up to them...they did not wake us....plus by 10 pm this neighborhood is very quiet...so so so nice!!!!!! There are a ton of cafe's and shops within 5 min walk...and many of them are local stores NOT souviner shops
Safety. Not sure why but there were hardly any tourist that come into this area!! I think we saw a few but for the most part we really and truely felt like we were a part of the neighborhood.. It is so quiet and tranquil...the doors and windows lock very securly we felt very safe throughout our stay.
Price- the Hendricks has a kitchen with every thing you need to cook... a washer and dryer and a living room with a CD player and theres a TV....which we never turned on so I dont know if it works.....you really do feel like your at home in Amsterdam!!.... You get your own house for the same money you will pay for a hotel with not an ounce of character...The Hendricks has all the character you could imagine and the views from the are stunning!! You will not find a hotel with views like the Hendricks...we fed swans..up to 8 at a time from our kitchen widow!! Worth every single penny.
So those are the things important to me...the Hendrick also offers a great owner and a really great energy...If you are considering a Hotel room I strongly recomend you give the boat a try....unless you have some physical limitations...the stairs from the street to the boat are authentic Amsterdam!! Excelent in every aspect and exceded my expectations!!
Thank you Caroline and everyone who helped make our stay so very nice. We will be back!!

28 March 2011
Boris
by Boris Peretyatko

It was unusual and unforgettable.

22 March 2011
Thank you
by mojdeh

We had a great time on this boat. It was very warm, comfortable, simple, practical and beautiful.
Many thanks,
Mojdeh

10 March 2011
enjoy house boat
by monique

house boat is really the way to live amsterdam!!!
it was great! quiet, cosy, near station and city...
we enjoyed a lot!

7 March 2011
Amsterdam in March
by Debbie & Chris from Exeter

We stayed on the Hendrick for 3 nights early March. We chose the boat based on the reviews we read here and we were not disappointed, she's a lovely boat. It was freezing cold outside but there are two gas fires which warmed the boat up quite quickly. Carolien was very helpful and friendly and pointed us in the direction of the local shops/supermarkets. The boat is in a quiet spot but close to all amenities, in easy walking distance to Dam square etc. and was very well equipped for everything we needed for our stay. There's a CD player onboard but take your own CD's. There are also plenty of maps and guide books on the boat for you to use. One thing you should give a miss though is the 'Heineken Experience' for 15 euro each it was a real rip-off. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this boat and would happily stay there again.

16 February 2011
houseboat review
by Steve Parkin

The houseboat was everything it was described as and more, set in a quiet yet central part of the town. Our host Carolein was more than accomodating and allowed us to store our luggage late until our flight was due(Thank you so much Carolien). I hired this as a birthday present for my son and his girlfriend so never had the pleasure of staying there though did join them for dinner one evening, needless to say they were overjoyed with the accomodation and i am sure to return with my own partner in the not too distant future.

26 November 2010
great experience!
by Sara Bolt

I just had a wonderful stay at Houseboat Rent B026. It is a very cozy and inviting place, and in a great location close to many restaurants/pubs/etc., but not too loud at night. All amenities we desired and more were included (washer/dryer, hair dryer, coffee maker with coffee as well as condiments for cooking!). Wireless internet access was not present during our stay, but free wireless was readily available at a cafe very close by.

6 October 2010
Great Weekend October 2010
by Joseph

We had a very nice stay on the Hendrick at the beginning of October. The houseboat itself is cosy and the beds are very comfortable (also the roll-away) and there is a great restaurant and a very friendly cafe across the canal. I recommend it highly as a base from which to explore the city, the location is fantastic, very central and yet still quiet.

9 August 2010
Lovely houseboat - perfect vacation
by Jacob Jensen

We were two adults and one child (3 year) aboard the houseboat Hendrick and it was a perfect location for our vacation in the week 29 2010. Hendrick is a beautiful houseboat - relaxed, friendly and cozy atmosphere and close to everything. We would highly give our best recommendations of Hendrick to others who want to experience Amsterdam aboard a houseboat. It was the first, but not last time we try it :-)
By the way: Cafe Captein on the other side of the bridge is really good.

3 August 2010
Feedback
by Jane Rooke

Great location, lovely boat. It could probably benefit from a little tlc - the interiors were quite tired and lots of cobwebs.
Shower rail was a bit precarious, you had to be very careful closing the curtains, otherwise it came away from the wall.
Overall we enjoyed the boat. It was well equipped with everything we needed. We would have appreciated a welcome pack - ie milk for tea (something the English can't love without!!), but the bottle of wine was greatly appreciated.
Most important thing - location, location, location was superb. A fantastic was to spend time in a fantastic city.

13 July 2010
feedback!
by Ingrid van Beek

We really enjoyed our stay on the Hendricks - it was a well-located, large houseboat, which was very comfortable, and met of our various needs. Would definitely recommend this houseboat and this mode of accommodation (as opposed to staying in a hotel) more generally, as it gave you a real feel for the city from a local's perspective. Having the option of cooking etc was also a nice change.
The only suggestion we would have is to put a small sofa in the lounge area for another sitting option apart from the 2 chairs. There were also some plumbing problems, with water coming up from the kitchen sink when the pump was turned on one occasion, and the water outlet hose detaching from the toilet on another - but this was quite managable!
Cheers, Ingrid and Geoff

29 June 2010
Great place to stay
by Taunel McKay

The boat was wonderful. The location was perfect. I loved the terrace on top. We sat there and ate dinner almost every night.
The amenities were also perfect. We had everything we needed in the kitchen to be able to cook. The bathroom even had a washer and dryer.
We will definitely come back.

3 June 2010
Houseboat B026
by Curt

This boat was fantastic. My wife and I stayed here for a week. It's perfect for two people. Everything worked great - it was cold, so we got good use out of the gas heater - and we'd recommend this boat without hesitation. We were met at the boat and our hosts made sure we knew everything required (trash drop-off, shower pump, etc.).
It's also a great location. Easy access to the central station and entertainment in the red light district. Absolutely fantastic!

2 June 2010
Honeymoon
by Torben Olsen

Hi,
My wife and I spend a short honeymoon on "the Hendrik". I was very nice and the boat was pefectly located in a quiet spot in center of town. If / when we visit Amsterdam again we will definetly stay on a houseboat once more.
If you love italian food I must highly recommend Restaurant AS which is located on Prinses Irenestraat 19 (near Beatrix Park). Absolutly world class - do check it out !
Regards Torben Hoier / Denmark

26 May 2010
Amsterdam stay
by John and Janice Burt

We stayed on B026 for 4 nights in late May 2010.
The position was perfect, a few minutes walk from the central railway station.
There were dozens of small restaurants 2 3 minutes walk as well as a local market, supermarkets, and historical sites.
The boat was very comfortable.
I would recommend highly to any travellers.
John Burt

21 February 2010
by phil goodland

A fantastic house boat - nice and warm in the winter...great location. Very pleasant indeed! I would recommend this boat to anyone

20 January 2010
an adorable houseboat
by Noriko Kojiro-Brown

Staying in this adorable houseboat was one of the highlights of our stay in Amsterdam. Although the canal was frozen, it was warm and cozy inside and the view from the lounge area overlooking the canal and the canal houses on the other side was beautiful. I spent many hours sitting in the comfortable chair looking at the view and watching the canal boats go by as well as the bicycle riders and people walking in the snow.
Coming back to the houseboat after sightseeing each day really felt like coming home. The well equipped kitchen allowed me to cook evening meals "at home" for my family which was much less expensive and far more comfortable than going out on cold winter nights.
It worked out to be much less expensive than staying at a hotel for our family and also allowed us to stay on a houseboat which really is a special Amsterdam expeience.
Hope we can do this again some time.

16 December 2009
A Nice Change
by Steve Hodgson

The houseboat was a great location to see Amsterdam from and added a dimension of interest that you would not get staying in a hotel. It is cosy and was very warm during the cold weather that we had while there. The location is good for walking to the main sites and it is very quiet too. Well worth the money and highly recommended.

9 November 2009
comments re houseboat B026
by themos sgouras

The boat was great and therefor the experience was great too.
Thank you
Themos Sgouras

3 November 2009
Relexation
by Gillian McCarthy

We stay on this lovely boat for the October bank hoilday. It's well located and within walking distance to pubs, market and train station. Caroline even left us a few beers in the fridge. The boat is the perfect place to stay instead of a hotel. You don't feel like you have to be out all the time as the boat is very open and relexing. Sitting by the window reading a book and watching the tourist boats go by was fantasic. Only a small bit of the wash made the boat move, so even if you feel like you don't have any sea legs to stay on the boat, it hardly moved. I would recommend this boat to couples. The only issue i would have is we found the hire of the boat for the few days expensive for what you actully get. But don't let that put you off. it's nice to treat yourself now and again.

2 November 2009
Houseboat B026
by Kasey and Danny

We enjoyed the houseboat very much! It was so much nicer than hotel. The boat was central, convenient and had everything we could possibly want.

23 October 2009
Perfect location and a great houseboat
by Robert Hoekman, Jr.

The location couldn't be better — it's just a 5-minute walk to Central Station, which is the central of Amsterdam. Everything revolves around Central Station.
The boat has a great little sitting area where you can hang out and read when you're too tired to keep walking around the city.
The walk to the boat from Central Station can be a little tricky if you've never been to the city before and you've just arrived and are hauling suitcases, so take a cab if you can. But any other time, without suitcases, it's a quick walk and very easy.
Great boat, great location. Highly recommended!

1 October 2009
Great houseboat!
by Jane Hendrix

We had a wonderful stay in B026 and would stay there again. This was our first houseboat stay, and we loved it. Thanks for providing us with a great place to stay!!

20 August 2009
5 Great NIghts in Amsterdam
by Jeff Posner

The boat was incredibly located just 10 minutes from the central station, yet it was calm, peaceful and quiet. After 5 nights dragging bags on trains among other cities, it was such a pleasure to just sit back on the upper deck with a beer and watch the tour boats cruise by. Instead of being one of the masses looking bored from those boats, we were the ones having our pictures captured in other visitor's albums.
The boat itself has far more room that the 3 person limit would imply. There was space to stretch out,, cook, relax, and the best part for those with children, was the ability to put them to sleep, head up to the roof and relax.If your traveling for a long time, bring half the clothes and do laundry aboard.
The neighborhood restaurants were cozy and seemed to cater more to the locals than the crowds; we find that a real draw.
Finally, our host Caroline, made the transaction an easy 5 minute affair and took care of us on a personal level. Even setting out a small child-sized chair and dollhouse for our daughter.
I would never hesitate to recommend this boat.

25 July 2009
Stay on the boat
by Doris, Christer and Michael Quintana-Danielsen

The boat was our home during our 5 day's stay in Amsterdam. It was a wonderful boat with great location and all the facilities a home should have. We travelled with our 11 month old son, and it was great to have such a big boat for him to crawl and move in. We really hope to be able to stay again on this boat on our future visits to Amsterdam. Staying on a houseboat was the greatest accommodation we have tried so far!

22 July 2009
Great experience
by Petra Reitz

We rented this boat,the "Hendrick" for five days, everything was perfectly prepared, even fresh flowers in the living-room and the bath-room, the location is very central but quiet and I can wholeheartedly recommend it!

10 July 2009
LOOK NO FURTHER
by Victoria Willebeek-LeMair

Don't waste your time looking at anymore boats. This charming and well-located boat is your best bet. Caroline has stocked the boat with everything you need for a wonderful vacation in Amsterdam. It is decorated nicely, it is not crowded (we even used her extra bed for our 12 year old daughter and still felt there was plenty of space for everyone.) Sitting up on top of the boat for breakfast or a cocktail was pure heaven. You're a five minute walk from Central Station, there's a great market and grocery store another five minute walk, and fabulous thai take-out and restaurant steps from the boat. Very quiet, despite the central location -- felt totally safe the whole time.

5 July 2009
Houseboat Hendrick
by Helge Lura

We had a very pleasant stay at the houseboat.The location was perfect,short distance to everything.The hostess of the boat was a very nice person.,and we would like to visit boat again if possible.

3 June 2009
Perfect place to stay
by Mark & Melanie

We spent the first 6 nights of our honeymoon on the Hendrik & the last 3 in a hotel in Amsterdam. The Hendrik was absolutely the way to go! The quiet & privacy can't be beat. The interior of the boat is beautiful & has everything you need to stay comfortably, including a washer & dryer! The bed is large & comfy and canal cruises go by constantly so there's always something going on outside your window & you really get to feel how it would be to live on the canals. The central location of the boat is within walking distance to tons of great food & sights, and to go further or outside the city, you can walk to Central Station to catch a tram or train. Caroline, the caretaker of the boat, is so welcoming & fantastic. She had fresh flowers & a couple of cold beers & bottle of wine awaiting us. Staying on the Hendrik, B026, made our stay in Amsterdam so authentic. Go, relax & enjoy!

19 May 2009
Don't Hesitate! Outstanding
by Thor Nielsen

I will never visit Amsterdam any other way! This boat blew us away and exceeded our expectations. It's located one or two blocks from everything you would want to see, and walking distance from the train. the boat is warm, clean, and an unbelievable way to experience Amsterdam... What are you waiting for?! You won't be disappointed.

15 May 2009
by Christopher Matthew Cottrell

Wonderful time in Amsterdam. Maybe mainly from the afterglow of my marriage but had a great time. Fairly central location so good for train station and other transport links. Boat was lovely - if not inexpensive - with lots of amenities nearby.

27 April 2009
Review of houseboat B026
by Chris Opperman

Me and my Girlfriend stayed in this wonderful houseboat in mid April `09
It was perfect, very clean, loads of space and towles. It had everything we needed for a comfy stay. All the books about Amsterdam and surrounding areas was of great help, let you know there was allot. It was in a very quiet area and well presented.
Sitting on the roof drinking coffee in the morning or having a late afternoon sundowner was just something out of this world.
I can recommend this houseboat as the place to stay. The owner was very friendly and helpful.
Thank you
Chris and Sheelo

19 February 2009
Fantastic boat, great weekend.
by Marika MacCarvill

Hi Carolien,
I just wanted to let you know that we had a fantastic time on your houseboat. It is so cosy and comfortable, has everything you need for the weekend and is in a fantastic location. For anyone thinking of booking a house boat, my advice is go for it. I would highly recommend Caroline's house boat. Located on a lovely quiet canal, its just five minutes walk to the central station and 5 minutes walk to the centre of things. We were a bit worried that the house boat might be a bit cold, but we needn't have worried as the boat has two lovely gas fires, which heat up the boat so quickly. The interiors of the boat are really lovely, very cute and lots of candles to hand to make it very rosemantic. Each morning we woke up and enjoyed coffee looking out on the canal, watching the tourist boats pass the boat as they made their way through the canal - we felt like we were really having the Amsterdam experience. We had some nice meals out and lots of fun. We went to Cafe Bern, which is highly rated in the guide books. While its full of Dutch people which was good, really the food is not up to much and we waited over an hour for our food. Fun all the same, but don't expect a culinary experience. We were in Amsterdam for Valentines day. As expected so many restaurants were booked out, so on the advice of the local wine shop, we opted for a lovely little italian restaurant beside the canal boat (its just over the bridge and take the first road to your right) . It's nothing fancy but packed full of locals, good food, friendly service and keenly price - you can't go wrong. The bar 'Capitein & Co' beside the boat is lovely spot - very relaxed and full of locals - a great place to start or end a night.
If you book a houseboat, your guaranteed a different experience compared to a normal hotel experience, which you can have in any city. They are great fun and something different.
Marika, Dublin, Ireland

28 January 2009
Lovely Boat!
by Richard Frazer

Hendrick is a lovely boat, tastefully done with a lived in feel. It feels so private and yet so close to the centre of things. We would never consider staying in a hotel again. It was a wonderful trip and we were as keen to spend time on the boat as we were to explore Amsterdam. A most relaxing four days and thoughful touches like flowers and a bottle of wine made us feel very welcome. I am loathe to go on too much in case we find Hendrick booked solidly when we try to come again!

5 January 2009
A Fantastic Stay!!
by Paul Goodman

A wonderful, spacious and very warm boat. We enjoyed it incredibly. The boat itself was lovely, the facilities were great and the location was perfect. We hope to return soon. I would highly recommend this to any couple!

4 January 2009
B026
by Bernd Junker

Hello
We had a very nice time and the boat is very nice and comfortable.It was very very cold outside and sometimes it was it a little bit cold inside the boat too.But that was not very much,so all in all it was absolutly ok.
Excuse my bad English
nice regards and best wishes to Caroline...Bernd Junker

20 December 2008
Absolutely Spectacular
by Brant and Brenda

This was the most amazing place I've ever stayed while on vacation. We stayed in boat B026 for a week for our 1 year anniversary. And wouldn't have changed a thing. Excellent location, 3 minute walk to the city center, or central station, quiet, quiet canal. Boat was in excellent condition. Heaters were plenty warm, Bed was huge and comfortable, and all the amenities worked perfectly. We loved this boat and next time we're in Amsterdam, we are praying that it will be available because we don't want to stay anywhere else. The owner is friendly and welcoming, it was an absolute dream. Thank you Caroline, we will be seeing you again soon.
Brant and Brenda

22 October 2008
The Hendrick
by Shannon Sedlar

Houseboat B026 (aka The Hendrick) was wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting on the terrace and watching the canal boats pass by. The location of the boat was excellent as well. Only 10 minutes walk to Central Station and less to walk to city center. The next time we're in Amsterdam, we'll definitely want to book The Hendrick again. Thanks!

30 September 2008
Houseboat Hendrik
by Duncan

Finding this houseboat online as an alternative to the many, very average, hotels in Amsterdam was a real treat, and I will be using it again! The boat is very spacious and comfortable - in fact, compared to a hotel it was like having a very large suite...but with more! The purpose for my visit to Amsterdam was business, and although the boat does not offer its only wifi I was able to relax in the lounge area, make my own coffee and do my work in the most relaxing of environments! I can only thoroughly recommend this boat to both leisure and business travellers.

12 September 2008
Great Accommodation
by Judy Steeves

We thoroughly encourage everyone to stay in this location. Five minutes from Central Station and a short walk from all the attractions yet you live on a quiet street with minimal noise. We felt at home from the time we arrived and were met by Carolien who made sure we had all the information we needed to ensure an emjoyable stay. Would go back again in a minute.

26 August 2008
review
by dirk + astrid anderssen

again we have been in this cosy boat.
we love it as it is in the middle of adam and seems to be far out.
every body who wants to stay in this busy town and needs a calm place for cooling down afterwards will be allright here.

4 July 2008
by DAVID HARRIS

Relaxing location....Near to Station only 15mins walk. I liked the little touch of flowers and Wine From Caroline as a little welcome.
She is very helpful and such a lovely host. We will definately book this houseboat again in the future.
Thank you for a lovely Break, We have our batteries fully charged for work again.
We Miss the little Houseboat in amsterdam !!!

22 June 2008
Review BO26
by Tony Ebejer

The location is fabulous in a quiet canal which is close to the central train station, supermarket, & entertainment area .
Accommodation was nice & cosy, clean and everything in good order which made our visit all the more enjoyable. Our hostess Caroline was lovely and frendly and also the addition of fresh flowers was a nice touch. I'd recommend it to anyone.

20 June 2008
wonderful stay at houseboat
by julie chang

This houseboat was located conveniently by Centraal Station but in a quiet canal.
To our amusement, tour boats would pass by during the day to point out how the Dutch live in houseboats.
The boat was spacious and light filled; it was lovely waking up in the wood paneled room and leisurely making coffee to drink at the table.
We loved sitting in the front of the boat to read, talk and drift into naps.
I would highly recommend this boat to anyone who would like the comforts of home but with Dutch flavor.
Our hostess was also very accommodating and left us wine and chocolates – thank you.

24 May 2008
Spring 2008 visit.
by William Brown

We stayed two weeks, and the weather was ideal: warmer than usual, but the boat was very comfortable with the windows open, and we did not need to use the ventilating fan. This is a very heavy and stable boat, and there was no rocking motion that can make some people uncomfortable on boats.
The hostess was exceptionally considerate and made our stay very pleasant. The boat was clean and well furnished, and the neighborhood was quiet and scenic. There was much more privacy than in a hotel or even an apartment. We didn't cook (other than tea and boiled eggs for breakfast), but all the equipment and utensils were all there had we wanted to cook. There were restaurants and provision stores, and even a supermarket nearby, but the neighborhood was very residential, with no tourist shops; that is probably what made it so peaceful.
We had not been to Amsterdam before, and we initially would walk to Central Station and catch a tram to whatever place we were seeing that day, but there was a lot of traffic and construction around Central Station, and after a couple of days we realized that it was more convenient, and scenic, to just walk directly to our destination. I think the location of the boat is very good, as it is in a quiet neighborhood, but we were easily able to walk to all the sites we wanted to visit, and we're not the young energetic hikers we were in the last millenium.
I would not hesitate to stay in this houseboat if we are lucky enough to be able to return to Amsterdam.

14 April 2008
by Catherine & Vincent Roantree

Staying on a houseboat in Amsterdam makes for a very different city break and we were delighted with this boat. So central but in a quiet area. We particularly enjoyed waving out the windows at the tour boats - we felt almost like locals! I had expected a houseboat to be somewhat cramped with little headroom but the Hendrik is roomy, bright and airy. Carolien is lovely and very helpful. We would recommend the houseboat experience.

10 March 2008
Hendrick
by Ronan Watters

Had an amazing time on houseboat Hendrick. It's such a lovely warm and generous space to use as a base to see Amsterdam. Wouldn't hesitate to stay in it again. Caroline the host is so friendly and helpful that you can't help but feel welcome.
The candles and flowers were a lovely touch.
Thanks for everything
Ronan

27 February 2008
Nice
by Al and Ems

We loved our break on the Hendrik. Great location, close to everything yet quiet at the same time. Was worried about gas heating but turned out to be spot on, lucky as was very cold outside. Also convenient from the airport to central station then on to the Hendrik.
Not much more to say, I would recommend it.

23 February 2008
Loved BO26
by Deb Gojevic

We had a fabulous time on the houseboat. It was cozy and warm and so centrally located. It was probably the highlight of our stay. We loved being able to cook our own meals and get everywhere by bike. Fresh flowers and a bottle of wine were wonderful! Great place! Only recommendation is that they replace the TV (very small and no colour left). Perched on a chair at the end of the double bed. Honestly, for a few hundred Euros, they could purchase a large flat screen TV and mount it on the wall beside the big bed. We had our son with us, so often evenings were spent watching a DVD together. It would be a nice touch given the price of the accomodation. Throwing in a few European or Dutch classic DVD's or even some recent releases would be the icing on the cake. (Of course if we didn't have our son with us, we'd have been out on the town, or hunkering down on the boat and finding other ways to amuse ourselves:)! ) Thanks for providing the venue for a wonderful, relaxing holiday!

12 February 2008
Fantastic stay
by Linda Davey & Mark Hall

We loved the boat, it was cosy, very well equiped and in a great spot. When, and not if, we come back to Amsterdam we will definitely stay on this boat again. Absolutely loved it!!!

8 February 2008
perfect location
by curt & deb cassel

stayed 5 days, jan 30 - feb 5, centrally located to virtually everything amsterdam has to offer. houseboat was more than adequate and quant. bottle of wine and fresh flowers to greet you.

30 December 2007
Fabulous Hendrik House Boat
by Kristie Willmott Goshow

Incredible location - short stroll from most of central Amsterdam. The boat is clean and tidy - perfect for a short retreat. Great way to experience the 'real' Amsterdam. You have everything you need - from full kitchen to a full bath. They even provide a hairdryer and washing machine!
We had a very special holiday on the Hendrik and highly recommend you try it for yourselves.
Best Wishes and Happy New Year
Kristie

30 November 2007
Amazing!
by Marshall

We could not have been more satisfied with our stay on the Hendrik. Our hostess Carolien was very nice and had the houseboat ready for us early. She even showed us some great places to visit during our stay. The kitchen, bathroom, and hotwater all worked magnificently and it was always warm enough. We stayed for 7 days and never once became seasick or disturbed by being on the water. It was the most romantic vacation we have ever taken. Thanks!

28 November 2007
Stay on boat B026
by Lisa Herd

The Hendricke is a lovley boat, it has everything you need for such a relaxing stay!!! Carolien is lovley and very helpful. The boat is central to everything, 5 minutes from central station.

15 November 2007
by Larry Plesh

November 8- 14
I've been to Amsterdam 3 times before, and this trip was the best of all. The Hendrick is a great houseboad--large, clean, and stocked with almost anything you can think of. The location is great as well. The neighborhood is quiet, but within a 2 or 3 min walk everything and anything Amsterdam has to offer is at your feet!
Staying on a houseboat is the way to go while visiting Amsterdam--you get a true feeling of what its like to live in that great city. I came with a friend, and we are already trying to figure out when we can get back again!
Caroline, thank you for your hospitality. Hope to see you again.
Larry Plesh

18 October 2007
Henricks was wonderful as always
by Sherry Baird

September 7-10
Our stay onboard the Henricks was just as special as last year. I wish we could have stayed longer. We love the boat and the location is the best to go anywhere. Please don't miss the Sea Palace for lunch or dinner. Great food and the view is wonderful. The Hard Rock is really nice if you are craving American food such as cheeseburger..nachos...fries. Molly Malone's is great to eat too as O' Reilly at Dam Square especially if you love Irish food and beer.
Thank you Caroline for another great visit. It was so nice to see you again. I felt as if I were coming home when I stepped down the ladder into the Hendricks. The view from sitting out on top and feeding the duck is so special. I could sit for hours just staring across the water and looking at the tower. We love Amsterdam and the two weeks there just wasn't enough! We hope to visit again soon!!!!
My heart is in Amsterdam!!!!
Sherry Gibson-Baird
Steve Baird
Athens, Alabama USA

8 October 2007
Amsterdam Autumn Break
by Catherine McLellan

We had a wonderful stay on the Hendrik House Boat, it had everything we needed for our stay and Caroline gave us a very warm welcome.
The location of the houseboat was ideal for us as we just wanted to explore Amsterdam on foot and were able to set off each day in a different direction.
There were plenty of bars and restaurants nearby and this didn't have any impact on the peacefulness of the houseboats location.
The only thing that could be easily improved would be attaching a tyre to the wooden pillar to eliminate the dunting of the Hendrik against it each time another boat passed.
Would thoroughly recommend to anyone staying in Amsterdam to stay on a house boat and the Hendrik certainly catered for everything we needed :o)

27 September 2007
Live like a local!!!
by mike marks

Houseboat B026 was my best stay in A-dam ever. I have been to A-dam 5 times and I have stayed in everything from a Hostel to a 4 star Hotel. Caroline will greet you when you arrive and she is super helpfull. She even had us some beers in the refridegerator. YOU WILL NOT FIND A BETTER LOCATION IN AMSTERDAM!!!

Dank u wel, Caroline, we had a great time!!! Tot strats...Daag'
Mike marks. U.S.A.

22 September 2007
houseboat B026
by Dr. Mark Lipetz

it was perfect. the location, the boat had everything we needed. five minute walk from train station and seven minute walk to all the entertainment. would stay their again on our next trip.
aloha,

28 August 2007
comin home to the hendrick
by dirk + astrid anderssen

Whoever was on the boat will feel like comin home on the second time.
So do we. It was just fine.
Close to the middle of the town but realy calm and quiet.
Everything you need arround the corner.
It´s great. dirk + astrid

22 August 2007
Hendrick House Boat
by Neil Bower

The houseboat was great for us (a couple & our young son). Whilst it is near the redlight as the crow flies, you don't even notice it unless you want to go searching for it. The boat is easy to find & was very comfortable with a fantastic huge double bed & a good small bed. It was well equipped, coming into its own at night as it has tasteful low lighting throughout. There is a lrage supermarket nearby to stock up on supplies too.
We really enjoyed every minute of our time in Amsterdam & this houseboat contributed to that. I would highly recommend hiring bicycles, which we did from the second day, as its a great way to get around the city. If you have a youngish child, look out for the great tandems which have your child on the front with the adult steering from the back (available from Mac Bikes, just next to Central Stn)

17 August 2007
Great stay
by Nathalie & Stuart

Amsterdam is a great city but what made our stay special was the accommodation:
a fantastic house boat right in the center of Amsterdam and yet so quiet.
We even had breakfast on the terrace!
Lovely boat, much larger than expected (full bath and a massive bed) and beautifully furnished, the only thing missing was a "mosquitos net"!!
We even made some "local" friends waiting for us to get up every morning for their daily feed... !
We would recommend it to any couple looking for something special, well worh it.

31 July 2007
Houseboat B026
by Brooke Merryfield

Our stay on Houseboat B026 was incredible and we will be back again. The houseboat is in the best possible location, is clean and spacious, and is very cute. We had such a good time on the houseboat that it was hard to leave and venture into the great city of Amsterdam. Also, the owner is very helpful and accomodating. We highly recommend this houseboat!

20 June 2007
Houseboat B026
by Fred Adlard

This was a delightful house boat on a quiet canal (Binnen Kan) just 5 - 10 a minute to Central Station and the shopping/restaurant area around Damrak. Ms. Caroline is the sister of the boat owner and she looks after it for him. Coincidentally she looks after houseboat B033 which we also stayed in on our return to Amsterdam 4 weeks after this visit. She is wonderful and after a few moments with her you feel like you've known her forever. The houseboat is roomy and fully furnished but be sure to get instructions on washer/dryer operation befor using. Access to the unit is down a small flight of stairs and through a narrow entry way, but is quite manageable. Neils owns a utility boat tied up to this boat. He is knowledgeable and very friendly and may take yuou for a private canal tour on his boat. He, his wife and his dog took us and was great fun. We highly recommend this unit and may stay there again on our next trip.

3 June 2007
A Week in May
by Ruth Hendrick (no relation!)

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely week on The Hendrick. The boat is very conveniently located to walk to most attractions of Amsterdam, as well as to the grocery store, restaurants, etc. Caroline was very helpful in getting us started, and her small additions (fresh flowers, chilled wine, candles) were a great touch. The boat was very clean and everything was in working order, although we would like to see the door put back up between the kitchen and the living/bed area so early risers would not disturb those still sleeping. After this experience, I can't imagine ever wanting to stay in a hotel in Amsterdam again!

15 May 2007
Wonderful weekend in Amsterdam
by Ernst Slabbert

We had a wonderful weekend staying on Houseboat B026. The houseboat is really close to the Amsterdam Centraal train station, and the 10min walk is really easy. It is also easy to catch tha trams to different parts of the city from the station.
The houseboat had a lovely lay-out and everything was nice and clean. We had sundowner drinks on the platform on the roof and that adds to the Amsterdam experience.
We will definitely stay on a houseboat in Amsterdam again!!!

14 May 2007
Fantastic
by Lisa Ullman

We had a fantastic time and truly enjoyed staying on BO26, it is perfect for two people and in a fantastic location, we were able to walk to everything or at least catch transportation very close by. We would definitely stay at this boat house again.
Thanks

1 May 2007
client review
by András Illes

Dear Company,
we stayed in the B026 housboau accommodation in the period 21-25. April 2007.
We here very suttisfied with the reservation service/ bokking/confirmation.
The hostess/owner Cristina waited for us, she was very informativ, polite and helpful.
We made a little problem in the kitchen owe, we were very sorry about it and we payed directly for here this value of reparation.
The door closer was repared in a short time.
The boat was good furnished, good kitchen, bath, towels, books-information material etc.
The TV set is old, out of colours, would be nice to change it for a new model.
We suggested her that giving 2 used bicycle for the guests will improve the service.
I would renew/paint the stairs, cover some area of the boat roof with grass-carpet to be able to sit outside...
Everything was very nice, we enjoyed our staying.
Thank you very much for your kind service.
Best regards,
Andrew Illes
Private-guide-service in Budapest
www.guideinbudapest.com

24 March 2007
Awesome
by Steven

The house boat was beautiful, big, comfortable and clean. Caroline the host was very nice and helpful and stocked the fridge up with a couple of beers. By far the best way to stay in Amsterdam. I highly recommend it. A perfect way to say goodbye to Europe after 2 years. You wont be disappointed.

15 March 2007
by KATE

I can throughly recommend a vacation on this boat. Its cosy interior is clean well equipped & very romantic. It took us a short while to realise that if we took the correct side streets we were virtually only around the corner from the main attractions.(lots of interesting window shopping). I think this could have been worked out alot quicker if we had stuck to coffee & tabacco! Anyway the boat was fantastic & the city is amazing.Only complaint was the head of the plastic rose falls of when you dance with it in your mouth (nude of course). See for yourself but please fix back on afterwards.
Kate & cheryl

14 February 2007
Houseboat BO26
by Victoria Evans

It was really lovely, cosy, romantic, quiet, homely, relaxing. The pictures didn't really do the boat justice and my main worries, that the area would be too noisy or feel too touristy, were totally unfounded. Great location, great boat. An amazing experience and, for me and my boyfriend exactly what we wanted. Carolien who welcomed us was cool and easy going and really nice. No complaints at all - would recommend it to anyone.

5 February 2007
by Alan Leitch

Comfortable, well positioned and with everything you need for a break in this wonderful city. You are within easy walking distance of so many of the must see sights and great bars and restaurants.
A warm Dutch welcome from Caroline sets you up for a fantastic stay in this great boat - if you are fed up with faceless hotel rooms this is the perfect place from which to explore all that Amsterdam has to offer.

2 January 2007
review of Hendrick
by gerard hodgins

our stay was pleasant and the the comfortable, quaint boat was an ideal romantic setting for our trip to amsterdam.
the Hendrick is perfect for a couple who just want to experience the romance that is amsterdam on a canal. it is close to all amenities and only five minutes away from Centraal Station.
gerard hodgins

30 November 2006
Best place to stay in Amsterdam!
by Melissa & Scott Fricke

We had a wonderful time staying on the Hendrick! Caroline welcomed us with beer, wine and flowers for our Anniversary! The boat was amazing!! Having our own kitchen with refridgerator and microwave along with a washer and dryer was so wonderful being all the way across the world. It really felt like home. We would wave at the canal taxi's and tours as they passed by... we felt like locals! Everything is within walking distance of the boat and even the cold rainy weather didn't stop us from tracking over 6 miles a day! We've stayed in Amsterdam before but in a hotel. We WILL come back to Amsterdam again and we WILL ONLY stay on a houseboat... preferrably this one. Thank you for the best part of our European Thanksgiving Vacation!!!!

18 October 2006
Everything was wonderful!
by Mark Sussman

Caroline was a great host. The boat was roomyt, very homey, and comfortable. The location was quiet, but just a few minutes walk from many activities. Yes, everything was wonderful!

6 October 2006
Houseboat Heaven
by Mr and Mrs Geoff and Ann Storr

The Hendrick was simply wonderful.Great view from your window and to sit on deck to watch the world go by was the best ever . We spent more time on the houseboat than we did on land and may I suggest that you do the same. Being on the houseboat was sheers bliss.
Ann & Geoff
PS We hope to be back on board very soon .

8 September 2006
Houseboat Bo26
by Monica Mcsherry

We had a great time on the boat.Caroline is a great host and everything we needed was available.
Location was great and all the shops are within minutes.
We look forward to another visit

31 July 2006
Fun-Sun
by Pat Coffey

We chose to stay in a houseboat on the canal in July.
Little did we know of the heat front that was coming thru.
Of course it was HOT HOT HOT but we still enjoyed our stay.
The boat was very serviceable not fancy but nice and clean and roomy. It was within walking distance to everything we wanted to see. I would reccommend to anyone that a stay in a houseboat is much cosier and more private than a hotel.
Thanks for a good time.

17 July 2006
Perfect in every Way
by Rachel and Sam Moles

The hosts were lovely, the boat was gorgeous, and we couldnt have picked anywhere better for our honeymoon! The location of the boat is terrific, minutes from centraal station, and from Dam Square.. For once a holiday where the photos on the website really were exactly what was there when we got there, gorgeous beautiful boat!!

5 July 2006
Bo26
by Martha McCravey

Perfect way to get the feel of Amsterdam. The boat had plenty of room, was very clean and very quiet. Location was excellent. It even had a washer and dryer. The only complaint was that the TV reception was poor. This would never have been a problem except that since it was World Cup time, we wanted to watch some of the games. I would recomment it hightly.

21 June 2006
Lovely place to stay

We very much enjoyed staying on a 'real boat' with lovely roof terrace. The location was fantastic. We'll be back! P & S

14 June 2006
Fantastic houseboat in Amsterdam!!
by Carey

We stayed on B026 for one week in May of 2006 - it was just perfect. The boat itself is spacious and nicely decorated with ample room for two. It is located in a fantastic location walking distance to most anything. It has a good view and is beautiful at night. Plus there are ducks who live in the same area who like to come by for visits - one black duck defends his territory quite vigorously which is interesting to watch! The owner is very nice and met us there with instructions even with our late arrival of after 10 PM on a Saturday. The boat makes for a romantic get away in a fantastic city! We will definately go back to this boat. It is quiet - there is some minor boat traffic which causes the boat to move a little but it adds a nice touch. There is a wonderful sitting area on the boat with a nice view. The kitchen is great and the bathroom is spacious - with a washer and a drier. It has two gas heaters which can really heat the place up (and we were there during a cold week). We could not recommend this houseboat enough!! Enjoy.

5 June 2006
Wunderschöne Tage in Amsterdam
by Miriam & Ralf

Wir waren im Mai auf dem Hausboot und hatten eine wunderschöne Zeit. Das Hausboot ist super ausgestattet und man fühlt sich gleich wie Zuhause. Die Lage ist prima, in nur 5 Minuten ist man am Hauptbahnhof. Von hier kann man alle Sehenswürdigkeiten mit der Tram erreichen. Unser Auto hatten wir auf einem bewachten P+R Parkplatz 3 Tram Haltestellen vom Hauptbahnhof entfernt geparkt. Wir haben viel unternommen. Im Mai war natürlich die Tulpenblüte in Keukenhof ein Muss. Aber auch das Museums Dorf Zaanse Schans und der Käsemarkt waren einen Ausflug wert. Amsterdam ist eine tolle Stadt und wir kommen sicher wieder.
Viele Grüße
Miriam & Ralf aus Deutschland

18 May 2006
tevreden
by Menno Reemeijer

We hebben een heerlijk weekend gehad op de boot. Alles was goed geregeld. Erg leuk om een bosje tulpen op tafel te zien en een flesje rose in de koelkast!! Hartelijk dank daarvoor. Het leuke is vooral dat je in een huiselijke sfeer komt (niet in een kille hotelkamer of een geplastificeerd vakantiepark), op een fantastische plek in Amsterdam. Kortom wij zijn erg tevreden.
Eén minpunt; Jammer dat je alleen voor 4 nachten kunt boeken (of 3 alleen buiten het seizoen).

26 April 2006
by Patrick Kropf

Everything was amazing! One could not ask for more. My wife and I spent the last four days of our honeymoon here and it was a perfect ending to a perfect trip. The boat was very romantic and very spacious. The only complaint we had was that our stay wasn't long enough.
Patrick & Kristy Kropf
Nyack, New York

18 April 2006
The Hendrik
by Steven Coburn and Joe McQueen

Greetings Caroline,
I wanted to drop you a line and thank you for our wonderful stay on the Hendrik for the six nights while we visited Amsterdam. Staying on the Hendrik was the high-light of our 25 day European Holiday. I was somewhat apprehensive of renting the houseboat because I am a full two meters tall, but I had no reason to worry, as my height was not an issue on the Hendrik. I look forward to future stays at "our" houseboat in Amsterdam. I really miss the beautiful view from the deck!
Thanks again!
Steve and Joe

2 April 2006
by Todd and Heather

We stayed in the lovely Hendrick in November 2005. It was my husbands first visit to Amsterdam and to Europe. The stay on this houseboat helped make Amsterdam his favorite city on our trip. The independence staying in the houseboat offers is so important when traveling. We could come and go, do our laundry, keep our own schedule and do as we pleased without worrying about disturbing anyone.
The boat was incredible. So beautiful and comfortable, especially the bed. My husband said that next to our bed it's the only bed he's wanted to stay in even beyond sleeping. Lovely soft cotton bedding and our cozy little boat made our trip.(yes we called it our boat) Waking up to the beautiful quintessential amsterdam view and swans and ducks to feed out our window was like a dream. We can't wait to go back. Don't hesitate for a second to book a houseboat for your trip to amsterdam.

30 January 2006
Just 'do it'

You may not have many opportunities in your life to stay on a real houseboat
So if the opportunity every arises you should ... just 'do it'
To stay in a hotel in Amsterdam is to accept second best.
The Hendrick is all that the previous reviewers say.
Cosy, charming, convenient, excellent internal design, with every inch used to good effect.
And all well managed by the delightful and very helpful Carolien (Thanks again !!)
If you are going in winter, like we did, don't worry (like we did !) , two very powerful gas stoves rapidly heat the boat .
Maybe you will relax to the sound of your favourite CD as you linger over your morning toast and coffee.
Or muse over the mystery of the blue door as you enjoy a leisurely evening meal
But whatever you do .. we hope you enjoy The Hendrick as much as we did
I am sure that one day we will go back, to visit her again
Pete + Gill (Yorkshire : UK)
PS
If you do succeed in solving the mystery of the blue door then keeping the secret to yourself will allow others the pleasure of trying to solve this small mystery too !

18 January 2006
What a fantastic four Days
by Lisa Cattanach

Myself and my boyfriend stayed on the Hendrik for 4 days from October 14th we are in our thirties. It was a wonderful boat in a fantastic setting. It was so nice to come back to the Hendrik after a hard days sight-seeing around Amsterdam so cosy and close to all the major attractions. Caroline really welcomed us and couldn't have been more helpful the fridge had some beer on our arrival and there was fresh flowers also - how nice. I really enjoyed feeding the Ducks every morning although it was really hard to get up out of that wonderful romantic bed! I can't wait to return to the Hendrik and to Amsterdam and will be doing so very soon.
Best wishes
Lisa

11 January 2006
Blooming marvellous
by Kate Andrews and Peter Tarn

Just returned from the Hendrick - what a way to do Amsterdam. If you're imagining that a houseboat is only for when you're a bit older, stop! We're 23, went for our first anniversary, and had a fantastic time. Self catering is great for the budget-conscious, and the boat is fantastically located for...well, everything, really. Add to that great facilities (including v effective heating) and a really homely feel and you've got the perfect holiday accommodation. Stay there!

19 November 2005
by joe turner

My wife and I stayed a week on the Hendrik and enjoyed it very much. The location and views were incredible. I highly recommend the experience.

13 November 2005
Completely charming
by Stacey Curtis

I love the Hendrick! It is the most beautiful thing to come "home" after a day of walking around, make a pot of coffee and sit up on top, watching the sunset fall, the watchtower get brighter, the ducks visiting, and the tourist boats drifting by. It is the best outdoor seating in the city.
The kitchen was very nicely-stocked; every time I wondered if something was there (like a knife sharpener), there it was! I expected a bit of "rusticness" to a houseboat, but it was completely charming and comfortable and bigger than I expected...had I known about it sooner, I would never have stayed in a boring little hotel room during earlier visits.
I will be recommending the Hendrick to everyone that I know is going to Amsterdam. Everything was perfect. I wouldn't change a thing.
-Stacey

11 November 2005
Houseboat B026 stay
by Ernest E. Haecker

Our twelve day stay was wonderful. The location, scenery, privacy, and accomodations were perfect. An ideal get away in the middle of it all.

27 October 2005
Fantastic stay
by Kevin Field

My wife and I had an excellent stay in houseboat B026 over 4 days. Our contact was very nice when we checked in, and even offered some friendly touches once we arrived (a bottle of wine, flowers, etc.). The boat was a great place to come back to every night after spending the day out in the city. It also fulfilled all our needs, and then some.
If we're ever back in Amsterdam, we'd love to stay there again... so thank you!
Sincerely,
Kevin Field

21 September 2005
by Frank Robinson

It was a wonderfull experance.I would recomend it to everybody.Caroline was a most gracious hostess.

16 September 2005
fantastic stay in Hendrick
by luis de melo

Dear Marcel Smits
For didn't knew about this kind of acommodation it was not our first option. However it revealed an fascinant discovery: absolute feeling of seguraty, natural environment, comnfort as home and very central.
Our sun (14) and ourself loved the stay and i'm sure we will not forget it. Certenaly we will came back as well our best friends.
A special thanks to Caroline Postma, that was very nice and maket ourself at home.
I can say that it was one of the best stay we heve been.
kind regards,
luis de melo

12 September 2005
What a gem!!
by Lauren Nash

What a gem and what a way to spend my 25th birthday!!! I have been to Amsterdam many times and stayed in many hotels, some good, some bad but this houseboat far out ways anything I have stayed in before. Perfect location, prefect facilities on the boat and we were lucky to have perfect weather. If you are thinking about booking this boat, do it now you will not regret it.

9 September 2005
our visit
by nanci campion

We were absolutely in love with staying on the houseoat. The only down side was leaving to go sightseeing it was so hard as the boat was a holiday in its self. Loved how the ducks appeared soon as you opened the window.
The welcoming by Wendy and the amont she did for us when our luggage was lost made the beginning so easy.
The houseboat is perfect and what a way to see Amsterdam. We will be back.

29 August 2005
A Perfect Amsterdam Holiday
by Viera and Tony

Clean, comfortable, lovely views, everything we needed.
To have such a lovely accomodation so near to the centre of Amsterdam is something we are so pleased to have found.
We will definitely use the Hendrix on our next visit to our favourite city

17 August 2005
Honeymoon Haven
by Claire Teague

We had the best time on the Hendrick chilling out and enjoying the scenery. It was raining heavily when we arrived but it took no time at all to walk from Centraal Station to our houseboat. Close to all the action yet tucked away and peaceful it was ideal and a very luxurious way to visit Amsterdam. We enjoyed our honeymoon on board the boat and when the sun came out it was a treat to sit on the roof watching the world go by and feeding the friendly coots. The Hendrick has everything you could possibly need and is much more fun than a hotel. Mrs & Mr Teague.

12 August 2005
Thank you very much
by Julio

Dear Carolien,
Just a quick e-mail to say thank you very much for everything last week. The whole week was amazing and we have a fantastic time. The boat was perfect and I we can't wait to repeat the experience again.
I hope that everything was left in order after we left. We tried to keep everything in place and tidy, so I hope you found no problems at all.
On the other hand, unfortunately we forgot a CD inside the HIFI, and we were wondering if it would be posible for you to put it in an envelope and send it to us. It was an special present to my friend John and we will be very grateful if you could help us to recover it.
I think you said you were away for a week, but I don,t have Agnes number or e-mail here, so I hope is not to late when you came back.
Note House-Boat Hotel:
I'm sure Caroline shall return the CD to you, don't worry.
With friendly regards, Ilonk

31 July 2005
Houseboat B026
by Lesley & Mike Moughtin

We are delighted to highly recommend this accommodation. The houseboat was wonderfully situated a short walk from Centraal Station. The mooring was tranquil and beautiful but with the atmosphere of Niewmarkt with its bars and cafes only moments away. The quality of the acommodation exceeded the description and the hostess Caroline was warm and welcoming.
Staying on a houseboat is a uniquely wonderful way to get a real feel for the beautiful city of Amsterdam. Please go yourself and don't forget to feed the ducks.

13 June 2005
A very relaxing week
by David and Dave, UK

We were greeted very warmly by our hostess, Caroline, who made sure we knew where everything was, how everything worked, and that we had a very friendly start to our stay in Amsterdam.
We also arrived in brilliant sunshine, and were able to spend a very happy couple of hours on the roof of the boat with a beer, watching the canal traffic drift past and the sun set behind the gables.
Though the rest of the week was not so fortunate with the weather (we were very grateful one day for the courtesy umbrellas!), the boat made an excellent way of staying in the city. Not only were we free to come and go, eat, bathe or just relax when it suited us (and who likes to feel rushed or scheduled on holiday?), but the boat was also a very homely place to come back to at the end of each day, and infinitely roomier than any hotel room.
And all this with the charm of being afloat - as David is a keen yachtsman and I've spent many, many holidays on narrowboats, this was a particular plus!
The boat is also perfectly located - Binnenkant is picturesque and peaceful (and the view down the canal towards Montelbaanstoren is superb), yet everywhere is within walking distance. We explored the cafes and restaurants (a particular tick of approval to Hemelse Modder, opposite the boat on Oude Waal, for a superb meal with excellent service), but also nipped into Albert Heijn (10 mins walk) and rustled up some fine meals in the well-equipped kitchen. Not only was the boat perfect for exploring Amsterdam, but also for some day-trips out of the city - the station is literally 5 minutes walk.
If you're visiting Amsterdam in the future and want something just a little different, staying onboard Hendrick would be a smart choice!

26 May 2005
Houseboat Hotel
by Darren Jarvis

What a fantastic way to spend a weekend in Amsterdam! Ideally located within walking distance of Centraal Station, yet not busy or noisy.
A superbly accommodated boat with all you could need for weekend away. Highly recommended and I hope to do it again this year if they can fit me in!
A brilliat place to stay if you go to Amsterdam

18 May 2005
Houseboat Hendriks
by Williams Viktor

My wife and I wanted to celebrate our 30 years wedding anniversary in a special way! We decided for Amsterdam during the tulip period and navigating on internet I found the houseboathotel web site. I could not have made a better choise! We spent 4 days on the house boat all for ourselves, in the center of the city, with all the confort that only your home can give you.
We will never forget this experience and definitely will consider coming back some time in the future.
Thanks to our charming host Caroline!

23 January 2005
My Stay on the Boat
by Darren Jarvis

What a fantastic way to spend a weekend in amsterdam! This was my fifth time to the Dam and by far the best purely because of the freedon staying on a boat offered. The location was excellent only minutes from Centraal Station, but quiet enough for a peacful trip.
I would recommend this boat most highly and will definately be back. A special thank you also goesa out to Caroline, a truly hospitable host who was very accommodating.
Thanks HouseBoatHotel!
Darren Jarvis

22 December 2004
Honeymoon in Amsterdam
by Lyn & Andy Morrison

We said we would be back but didnt expect it to be on Honeymoon. What a great place to spend it. Cant fault the boat in any way comfortable and cosy and nothing is too much bother for the host Caroline. Hope to spend another break staying on this real home from home.
Thanks again Caroline and Jan
Lyn & Andy Morrison

16 December 2004
by Benjamin Fewster

Superb location, really nice surroundings. Exactly what you need for a nice relaxing break. Thank you very much, hopefully will be seeing you again soon

15 December 2004
Fantastic houseboat, home from home
by Kevin Sibley

We had a fabulous time on this houseboat for 4 days in December. It is very central and is easy walking distance to all attractions. We were greeted by the lovely Caroline who immediately made us welcome. The houseboat itself is very roomy and warm and has great views of the canal. The kitchen and bathroom are both very clean and well equipped and well maintained. I loved the large bed, very comfortable. We used to leave the back curtains open so we could wake up in the morning watching the boats go up and down the river. Also, feeding the ducks and swans from the windows became very addictive! We would DEFINATELY come bacjk and stay! Thanks again for a great stay :-)

26 November 2004
Wedding & stay on Houseboat in Amsterdam
by Hans Petter & Naomi Nagelstad

My husband and me had a fantastic stay at a houseboat in Amsterdam. He did not want to go back to Norway. Wanted to buy a houseboat for himself. It was fantastic and our host was very helpfull. Concerned about her boat ofcourse but really great!
For our next stay in Amsterdam we will do this again!! THANK YOU CAROLINE!
HP & Naomi from Norway

11 October 2004
Fabulous Holiday
by Stephanie Bonhomme

We just returned from a four day stay to one of our favorite cities. This is the second time we have stayed on a houseboat and we were not disappointed. This beautiful structure is so nice its hard to leave. Excellent location and very quiet at the same time. Close to everything its great to come back to at the end of the day. Lovely wooden interior with the comforts of home, the views are spectaculor and gives one the feeling of being local if only for a short time. Feeding ducks and swans from the window's was great fun. Our hostess was wonderful and we look forward to our next visit.
Stephanie Bonhomme and Greg Counsell
Canada

18 September 2004
In celebration of our 20th wedding anniversary
by christina creese

Do not stay in a faceless cold hotel room again when visiting Amsterdam. We have just arrived back from our 5 day stay on the “Hendrick” . what a beautiful boat. Very well renovated inside with a slightly Bohemian feel. With spectacular views over the water. Good selection of quality restaurants with in 5-10 minutes walk.
You will not need to hire a car as everything is so close and the trams are really easy to use. The boat is right in the centre. We did the boat tours which were good, but can I really recommend the horse and carriage that is out side the madam Tassauds building. This trip was to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary so top it we spend 30 minutes going around the centre streets in the horse and carriage, the lady guide stopped regularly and told us so much information about the city and its life style. Costs 35E for 20 minutes and 45 euros for 30 minutes. Have to say it is worth it.
After a hard days sight seeing it was brilliant to go back to our beautiful big boat and relax.
Thank you very much for letting us stay. We will of course book it again when we return to Amsterdam.
Chrisie and Stuart

14 September 2004
Houseboat B026 Highly recommended
by Phil Summers

A great welcome from Caroline who took her time to show us the boat despite the lateness of our arrrival.
The boat's location is great, just 5-10 minute's walk from the central station yet not in the touristy area. Clean, comfortable with good views and a roof terrace. I can't fault it.
Thanks

10 September 2004
B026 was fantastic!
by Jann

This is THE WAY to experience Amsterdam! Our stay on this boat was as visually beautiful as it was convenient. The views in all directions was superb and the location is very convenient. You can take an airport shuttle bus to the NH Barbizon Hotel and walk a short way to the boat. This is shorter than going to the central train station, especially if you have luggage and wish to avoid the hassle factor. We highly recommend this experience!

24 August 2004
B026
by Sandra and Luis - Spain

We have stayed on this boat for a week and it was a very nice experience. The boat is simple but very well located: central, quiet and safe. The owner was very kind and helpful with us during our stay, thank you very much, Caroline!

22 August 2004
by Henry Newby

Having visited Amsterdam a number of times over the last 10 to 15 years, I could not imagine returning to Amsterdam and staying in anything other than a houseboat. Absolutely fantastic!

17 August 2004
An excellent long weekend
by Joel & Kerry

If you are considering renting B026 - DO IT! We looked at hotels and B&Bs and in the end decided to rent the houseboat. The boat is home from home: all mod cons including sky TV! Location is great for either walking into the city or Central station trams etc - there was no noise at night.
The boat made our weekend unique and gave that special Amsterdam touch. We will definately rent the boat again but for a week next time! You will not be disappointed.

2 July 2004
Home from home
by Lyn Arbuckle

I have visited Amsterdam for 7 years now and always stayed in hotels. This years visit was made totally unique due to staying on this boat. We were made to feel really welcome. It was clean comfortable and cosy at night watching the cruise ships go by. It really did feel like home for a week. A truly wounderful experience. I would never dream of staying anywhere else.
Andy & Lyn (UK)

31 May 2004
Ingredients for a perfect weekend in Amsterdam :
by Lisa and Peter

* warm sunny weather
* comfortable shoes
* soul-mate
* glass of rose/beer
* 2 deck chairs
* houseboat 'Hendrick' at Binnenkant
Thanks for helping our romantic weekend to be perfect. Our 7th wedding anniversary was a truly memorable weekend.
Lisa & Peter (Canada/Latvia)

15 April 2004
by Martin and Michele (UK)

Thank you for a wonderful holiday. The boat was perfect, everything we could ask for! It felt like we had a home in Amsterdam for a week and made a welcome change from the usual round of budget hotels. This is my 3rd visit to Amsterdam and it has definitely been the best! I look forward to my 4th visit spent here on the boat.
Martin & Michele (UK)

2 April 2004
To the owner of the Hendrick
by Jonathan and Rebekah

Thank you! It has been an incredible experience staying on the canals in Amsterdam. I've been here once before, but the boat made it an unique and magical experience. It's beautiful, has the perfect location, everything was GREAT. We will definitely be back. Let me know if you ever want to sell it! We loved it that much. Thank you.
Jonathan and Rebekah (Rhode Island US)

1 April 2004
our stay in march
by Diff and Glenn

We haved loved having the boat to call home, it's been perfect: everything you could want for a completely chilled weekend in the 'Dam!!
Diff and Glenn (UK)

Book Now!

All accommodations: